Exhibitions & Events



Saturday Music at Laundry Steps

Time |
2:30pm-5:05pm
Location |
Laundry Steps
Price |
Free of charge

Designated Saturday of each month, an exciting line-up of established and up-and-coming Hong Kong musicians will gather at Tai Kwun’s Laundry Steps to offer an afternoon of light-hearted music. Curated by singer-songwriter Vicky Fung, an avid promoter of Cantopop, these Saturday afternoons will showcase the best of Hong Kong’s jazz, pop, independent and world music, where you will revisit and discover the musical talents of our city at the unique heritage site of Tai Kwun.


Saturday Music at Laundry Steps

 

Date

Time

Line Up

Music Genre

THEME OF THE WEEK: As Within, So Without

In light shines in the darkness; darkness comes when there is no light...as within, so without.

02.11.2019

2:30pm – 3:05pm

MUKZI

Pop-Folk, R&B

3:30pm – 4:05pm

Senivoda

World Music

4:30pm – 5:05pm

Movement

City Folk


MUKZI

MUKZI ( 木子 muk6 zi2 ), a moniker derived from the singer/songwriter’s surname, meaning“the children of trees“.

Born in 1995, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, raised in Hong Kong and Beijing, the singer/songwriter started busking on the streets in 2015 for a living after dropping out from his visual arts degree in university. Slowly shifting his focus from arts to music, he performed and wrote songs for his solo act and the indie band PHOON. After a few years of performing solo, MUKZI formed the band THE ISLAND in 2018 with his friends (Xavier on drums, Kashun on guitar, Wai on bass & Jonathan on Keyboards) to perform and record his original material as MUKZI & THE ISLAND live and in the studio. With a sonic palette ranging from hearty folk ballads to vibey R&B, his music dwells with genuine emotions and pop sensibility throughout, the breeze and lively energy from MUKZI’s music and performances are sure to capture your hearts and plant an earworm in you. MUKZI’s debut EP is recorded in 2018.


Senivoda

Sen is dream, voda is water. Senivoda is an original music project of a Kiwi songstress of a polish decent, Ola Milena in collaboration with a bassist and instrumentalist, Raphael Bowen, whose roots lie in both Australia and Sri Lanka.

Hailing from Melbourne, Senivoda creates psychedelic world music, fusion of Jazz, Soul and prog rock, inspired by the melodies of polish mountain folk, the rhythms of indigenous tribes, infused with jazz harmonies, set in trance evoking grooves. One of the most important aspects of the project is that it blends influences from around the world, bringing together international musicians to create a truly unique sound. Their songs are full of magic, focusing on the expansion of consciousness while addressing challenging ideas relevant to the world today.  Senivoda's mission is to spread awareness of the current state of Mother Earth and ways to help it heal.

The Senivoda experience expands beyond music. With the use of dance, theatre, smoke and crystals, Ola Milena creates a multi-sensory experience for the audience to bathe in. The live show is a feast for all senses. With their music and magic, Senivoda has inspired the hearts of many listeners in Australia performing at sold out venues as well as festivals like Rainbow Serpent, The Town, Dragon Dreaming, Happy Wanderer, Mardi Grass and more.

Following a successful completion of a Crowdfunding Campaign, raising $10,000 for the making of Senivoda's Debut Album, Ola, Raph and the Senivoda family are busy spending time in the studio. They are looking forward to sharing. 'Dream & Water' in the near future.

In celebration of their new album release, Senivoda is touring Hong Kong between the 2nd and 9th of November.


Movement

Movement is a local band formed by a group of simple person and romantic people who love freedom. Music is a universal language, Movement love to make friends around the world with their music. They play different kind of music styles and city folk is their main genre.

展覽及活動



周六階聲作樂

時間 |
2:30pm-5:05pm
位置 |
洗衣場石階
費用 |
免費

由香港知名唱作人馮穎琪精心策劃,每月指定星期六下午,城中一眾成名多年及嶄露頭角的音樂人將齊聚大館洗衣場石階,為你獻上爵士、流行、獨立到世界音樂,讓你在城市中心的獨特古建築群中,重新認識和發掘本地的音樂人才。


周六階聲作樂

日期

時間

演出團體

音樂風格

本周主題:如其在內 如其在外

有黑暗光明才得以存在

而黑暗和光明本是一體

如在其內 如在其外

02.11.2019

2:30pm – 3:05pm

木子

流行民謠、節奏藍調

3:30pm – 4:05pm

Senivoda

世界音樂

4:30pm – 5:05pm

牧民

城市民謠


木子

木子 MUKZI,生於1995年香港灣仔, 長大於香港和北京。

2015年從藝術學校輟學,為了生計而到街上賣唱,經過數年個人寫作和在獨立樂隊 PHOON擔當主音。其間創作重心從藝術漸漸轉移到音樂上,並在2018年與友人組成島嶼樂隊/THE ISLAND(鼓手 賢、結他手 遜、貝斯手 威 及 鍵盤手Jonathan ),以木子與島嶼樂隊/MUKZI & THE ISLAND名義演出及錄製其原創歌曲。其音樂風格囊括民謠到R&B,清澈的歌聲更令其風格自成一格、如清風般脫俗,其中真摯的感情和旋律總能夠找到方法吹進你的心扉。木子首張專輯於2018年開始錄音。


Senivoda

Sen 是夢,voda 是水。Senivoda是一原創音樂計劃由出生於波蘭的女歌手 Ola Milena 與扎根於澳洲及斯里蘭卡的低音結他手、純音樂樂手 Raphael Bowen 組成。

Senivoda 活躍於墨爾本,他們的音樂揉合迷幻的世界音樂、爵士、Soul及前衛搖滾,受波蘭民謠旋律和土著部落的節奏啟發,注入爵士和聲。這計劃的核心價值是凝聚來自世界各地的樂手,帶著不同的音樂想法,創造獨特的聲音。他們的歌曲充滿著魔法,集中於發表對當今世界事情具挑戰性的想法。Senivoda的使命就是喚起各界對孕育萬物的大地現狀的意識及其治愈的方法。

Ola 每一場現場演出,也為觀眾營造一種多感官的體驗,於音樂裡融合舞蹈、劇場和煙霧,觸動著全身的感官盛宴。在澳洲的音樂節、藝術節中,如 “Rainbow Serpent”、”The Town” 、”Dragon Dreaming”、”Happy Wanderer”、”Mardi Grass” 等等,啟發及感動了不少樂迷。

他們為首張專輯發起眾籌,並成功眾籌了製作資金。眾籌成功後,Ola、Raph 與 Senivoda 的創作及製作團隊專注於專輯的創作及錄音製作,於音樂中分享他們的 “夢與水” 想法。而這張專輯即將面世,Senivoda 將於11月 2日至9日期間於香港進行巡演宣傳 。


牧民

牧民是一群純樸,自由和浪漫之徒所組成。

他們愛帶著樂器用音樂四處交友(音樂乃是國際語言),因應心情唱出歌曲,可能因為隊員的性格比較不同,所以有多種曲風的格調。