Project Team

The Architect + Masterplanning

Herzog & de Meuron

Established in 1978, Herzog & de Meuron is now a partnership led by five Senior Partners — Jacques Herzog, Pierre de Meuron, Christine Binswanger, Ascan Mergenthaler and Stefan Marbach. An international team of about 460 collaborators works on projects across Europe, the Americas and Asia. The firm‘s main office is in Basel with additional offices in Hamburg, London, Madrid, New York City and Hong Kong. Herzog & de Meuron have designed a wide range of projects from the small scale of a private home to the large scale of urban design. The practice has been awarded numerous prizes including The Pritzker Architecture Prize (USA) in 2001, the RIBA Royal Gold Medal (UK) and the Praemium Imperiale (Japan), both in 2007.

The firm‘s highest profile projects to date are the conversion of the Bankside power plant to Tate Modern in London, UK (2000) and the National Stadium Beijing in China (2008).

In 2018, Herzog & de Meuron completed work on Tai kwun – Centre for Heritage and Arts – a high profile conservation project in Hong Kong with its two new additionas to the site: the JC Contemporary and JC Cube. The project revitalises a unique cluster of historic structures in the centre of Hong Kong. Other than that Herzog & de Meuron is working on M+, the new museum for visual culture in Hong Kong (planned completion 2019).

Find out more about Herzog & de Meuron.
www.herzogdemeuron.com

Executive Architect

Rocco Design Architects Associates Ltd

Led by the award-winning architect Rocco Yim, Rocco Design Architects Associates Ltd (RDAA)  is the executive architect of the restoration project. The firm draws invaluable expertise from its experience on a multitude of international cultural and public building works.

As one of Hong Kong's most prolific architectural firms, RDAA has won international recognition and acclaims, with projects such as the Bamboo Pavilion in Berlin, the Guangdong Museum in Guangzhou, the HKSAR Government Headquarters at Tamar, Hong Kong, and the recently completed Yunnan Museum.

The firm brings local and international insights to the project via a disciplined approach that includes persistent attention to the quality of the total environment and acute awareness of local culture.

Find out more about Rocco Design Architects Associates Ltd.
www.rocco.hk

Conservation Architect

Purcell

Purcell is an award-winning practice of Architects, Masterplanners and Heritage Consultants with 14 studios across Asia-Pacific and the UK. 

Purcell has been pivotal in the creation of Tai Kwun - Centre for Heritage and Arts. The practice’s conservation of 16 historic buildings within the compound has safeguarded the site’s rich heritage and transformed it into the unique cultural centre it stands as today. 

To ensure the project’s success, Purcell developed a Conservation Management Plan and undertook in-depth research into the site’s architecture which unlocked the compound’s vast cultural and architectural heritage. 

As advocates of adaptation and reuse, Purcell are committed to making the most of what exists today and creating better places for tomorrow. 

Working extensively on adaptive re-use, interiors and heritage conservation projects, Purcell’s Hong Kong studio specialises on the arts and culture, hospitality and education sectors across the South East Asia region, including Myanmar, Singapore, Indonesia and China.

Find out more about Purcell.
www.purcellap.com

項目團隊

建築師 + 總體規劃

赫爾佐格和德默隆

國際頂尖建築師事務所赫爾佐格和德默隆 (Herzog & de Meuron) 在1978年成立於瑞士巴塞爾,由Jacques Herzog和Pierre de Meuron,高級合夥人Christine Binswanger、Ascan Mergenthaler、Stefan Marbach、Esther Zumsteg和Jason Frantzen共同領導。團隊擁有接近500名國際專業人才,包括兩名創辦人,五位高級合夥人,八位合夥人和42 位總建築師等,共同負責歐洲、美洲及亞洲多個項目。事務所總部位於巴塞爾,另於倫敦、紐約、香港、柏林和哥本哈根設有分部。

事務所的設計項目涵蓋廣泛的類型及規模,從小型的私人住宅到大規模的城市設計。當中包含了享負盛名的公共設施,如博物館、體育館、醫院等,也有知名的私人項目,如辦公大樓、實驗室和住宅大廈等。事務所獲頒多個國際獎項,包括2001年被譽為建築界最高榮譽的普立茲克建築獎(美國),2007年英國皇家建築師學會皇家金獎(英國)及高松宮殿下記念世界文化賞(日本)、及2014年美洲密斯克朗獎(美國)。

2018年,赫爾佐格和德默隆完成香港最大型的古蹟保育及活化項目:大館 - 古蹟及藝術館。項目的設計將座落於香港中心的獨特歷史建築群活化,並加入兩幢新建築:賽馬會藝方及賽馬會立方。除此之外,事務所在香港亦負責設計香港M+視覺文化博物館 。

更多詳情,請瀏覽赫爾佐格和德默隆建築師事務所。
www.herzogdemeuron.com

建築顧問

嚴迅奇建築師事務所有限公司

由屢獲殊榮的本地著名建築師嚴迅奇領導的嚴迅奇建築師事務所有限公司,是中區警署活化計劃的執行建築公司。憑着其豐富的國際文化及公共項目經驗,為計劃提供寶貴的專業意見。

嚴迅奇建築師事務所為香港最具創意的建築師事務所之一,作品廣獲國際建築界讚許及認同,當中包括曾參與柏林文化節的「竹亭」、廣東省博物館,以及新落成的添馬艦香港特區政府總部。

嚴迅奇建築師事務所創作態度非常嚴謹,貫徹對整體環境質素及本土文化的關注,為「中區警署活化計劃」注入本地及國際的視野。

更多詳情,請瀏覽嚴迅奇建築師事務所有限公司。
www.rocco.hk

保育顧問

Purcell

Purcell是一所屢獲殊榮的建築師事務所,匯聚來自世界各地的建築師、規劃師和保育顧問,在英國及亞太地區共有14間工作室。

在大館這座古蹟及藝術館的創造過程中,Purcell的角色舉足輕重。他們為建築群內16座建築的保育工作力盡本份,保護其豐厚之文物價值,並將其活化為現時獨特的文化中心。

為確保工程的成功,Purcell早已製訂詳細的《中區警署保育管理計劃》,對場地內的建築進行深入的研究,務求將當中深厚的文化和建築歷史底蘊釋放於社區及公眾。

作為活化再用保育原則的倡議者,Purcell運用巧妙而創新的構思,將建築物的歷史特色發揮極致,為將來創造一個更好的地方,實現古蹟活化再用的理想。

Purcell香港事務所主力從事活化再用、室內設計和建築遺產保育等工作,在東南亞地區如緬甸、新加坡、印尼和內地均屢有建樹,遍及藝術文化、酒店娛樂及教育等領域。

更多詳情,請瀏覽Purcell網站。
www.purcellap.com