Tai Kwun Conversations

Tai Kwun Conversations: UNESCO Series - Talk 2
Urban sustainability and resilience through nature and culture

Tai Kwun Conversations: UNESCO Series - Talk 2
Urban sustainability and resilience through nature and culture

Tai Kwun Conversations: UNESCO Series - Talk 1
Urban recovery through culture, arts, and creativity

Tai Kwun Conversations

Tai Kwun Conversations: Spectre of Truth

Tai Kwun Conversations - Notre Dame – How to rebuild a masterpiece of Gothic architecture in the 21st century?

Tai Kwun Conversations - International Series on Architectural Conservation

Tai Kwun Conversations
Dancing with a Stranger

Tai Kwun Conversations - The Making of National Gallery Singapore

Tai Kwun Conversations - Renovation of the Staatsoper Unter den Linden

CHAOS: Wing Shya × Inoue Tsuguya

Twentieth Century Heritage: Diversifying Hong Kong Stories – Using the ICOMOS ISC20C Historic Thematic Framework

Tai Kwun Conversations—No Stone Unturned – A Material Journey from Hong Kong to Mexico

Tai Kwun Conversations—Inclusive Conservation and Cultural Connection: Building Resilience for People and the Planet

Tai Kwun Conversations – Summer Institute #4 A Dialogue on Art and Cosmotechnics between Yuk Hui and Hans Ulrich Obrist

Tai Kwun Conversations – Unpacking the Reuse of Colonial-era Historic Buildings: Cases of Tai Kwun and the Rockbund Art Museum

Tai Kwun Conversations – Community Matters: Planning and Design through Narrating Community Stories

Tai Kwun Conversations – Making a Classic Modern: Frank Gehry’s Masterplan for the Philadelphia Museum of Art

Tai Kwun Conversations – A Vibrant New Arts Precinct in a Heritage Waterfront: The Revitalisation of Pier 2/3 of Walsh Bay Arts Precinct, Australia

Tai Kwun Conversations — Invisible Innovation: Revitalising the Central Police Station Compound

Laying the Groundwork: The Burra Charter and Heritage Values

The Book and the Sword in China and Italy’s Martial Culture

Healing Architecture: Tsz Shan Monastery’s Mindfulness Journey in Purifying Body and Mind

Heritage Reborn: Restoration of Duddell Street Steps and Gas Lamps

Crime, Justice and Punishment in Colonial Hong Kong

Beyond the Surface – How paint conservation tells the identity of a building

Creating a Liveable City: Combining Conservation and Development in Yangon

Beyond Memories: Conserving Heritage in France and Macao

Date & Time

1 Aug 2022 7pm-8:30pm

Location

JC Cube and Online

Price

Free of charge

General

Co-curated by

To tackle climate change, the second session of the UNESCO Series in Tai Kwun Conversations explores nature-based solutions for building urban resilience. What are the natural disaster risks in the urban environment? What are the blue-green infrastructure projects in the geographical and cultural contexts of Asian cities? In combating climate change, where are we now and how can we learn from each other? Through case studies, the discussion will also reflect on the challenges affecting implementation, the urgency for accelerating change, and the need to ensure long-term sustainable management.

The event will be conducted in English, with simultaneous interpretation from English to Cantonese (onsite and online) and from English to Putonghua (online) available.

Moderator:

Mee Kam Ng | Vice-chairman of the Department of Geography and Resource Management, Director of the Urban Studies Programme, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Speakers:

Christine Loh | Chief Development Strategist, Institute for the Environment, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, former Under Secretary for the Environment in the HKSAR Government (2012-2017) (Online)

Kotchakorn Voraakhom | Chairwoman of the Climate Change Working Group of the International Federation of Landscape Architects (IFLA World); CEO and Founder of Landprocess and Porous City Network (Online)

Commentary:

Wendy C. Atieno | Programme Officer, Ecosystem-based Adaptation, International Union for Conservation of Nature (Online)

7:00pm – 8:00pm

Talk 

8:00pm – 8:30pm

Q&A


Moderator, Speakers and Commentary Bio

Mee Kam Ng
Kotchakorn Voraakhom
Christine Loh
Wendy C. Atieno

Mee Kam Ng is Vice-chairman of the Department of Geography and Resource Management, Director of the Urban Studies Programme, Associate Director of the Institute of Future Cities, the Hong Kong Institute of Asian Pacific Studies at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. She is a fellow of the Royal Town Planning Institute, a fellow of the Hong Kong Institute of Planners and academic advisor of the Hong Kong Institute of Urban Design. She was elected as a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in the United Kingdom in 2016. In 2021, she was selected as an Honorary Member of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) Hong Kong Chapter. Her publications have earned her six Hong Kong Institute of Planners’ Awards and the 2015 Association of European Schools of Planning Best Published Paper Award. She has been consultant to the United Nations, the European Union and the Municipal Government of Shenzhen. The Urban Studies Programme she directed is a Member of the UN-Habitat’s World Urban Campaign, promoting the implementation of the New Urban Agenda.

Kotchakorn Voraakhom is a Thai landscape architect who works on productive public spaces, tackling climate change in urban dense areas. She created the first critical green infrastructure for Bangkok, Chulalongkorn University Centenary Park. Her works also include Thammasat Urban Farm Rooftop, the biggest urban farming green roof in Asia, and Chao Phraya Sky Park, the first bridge park across the river in any world capital.

She was awarded from UNFCCC for the UN Global Climate Action Awards, featured in 2019 TIME 100 Next, 15 leading women fighting against climate change from TIME, BBC 100 Women, and Bloomberg Green 30 for 2020. She is a Chairwoman of the Climate Change Working Group of the International Federation of Landscape Architects. She received a Master of Landscape Architecture from Harvard University. She is a TED Fellow and an Echoing Green Fellow.

Christine Loh, SBS, JP, OBE, is the Chief Development Strategist at the Institute for the Environment, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST). Previously, she held the positions of Special Consultant to the Office of the Chief Executive of the HKSAR Government on the ecological civilization aspects of the Greater Bay Area Outline Development Plan (2019-2020); and Under Secretary for the Environment in the HKSAR Government (2012-2017). She was the CEO of Civic Exchange, an independent non-profit public policy think tank (2000-2012). Before that, Prof. Loh served as a member of the Hong Kong Legislative Council, first appointed in 1992 and later elected in 1995 and 1998. Earlier, she spent 14 years in the private commercial sector in commodities trading.

Currently, she is a Director of New Forests Pty Limited, Towngas Smart Energy Company Limited, CDP Worldwide, and Global Maritime Forum. She is Advisor on Sustainability to the Hong Kong Science and Technology Park, Senior Advisor to TENEO, and a member of BASF’s Stakeholder Advisory Council. She is also a founding Advisor to Hong Kong Green Finance Association.

Wendy C. Atieno is the Programme Officer for Ecosystem-based Adaptation at IUCN’s Washington DC office. She supports the implementation of several adaptation and resilience projects through the Climate Change unit across a wide range of ecosystems. She works with country teams in Asia, Africa, and Latin America to strengthen the reciprocal relationship between global policy and action-on-ground through sharing evidence and knowledge, and linking action to policy. Wendy previously served as a Princeton in Asia fellow in IUCN Lao PDR (2013-2015), where she supported projects on transboundary water governance in the Lower Mekong region, and ecosystem-based adaptation approaches in wetland areas. She holds a master's degree in Global Environmental Policy from the School of International Service at American University, where among other topics, she studied water governance, water and climate change, and urban political ecology.

大館對談

大館對談:聯合國教科文組織對談系列 – 對談 2
以自然與文化建構城巿適應力及可持續性

大館對談:聯合國教科文組織對談系列 – 對談 3
城巿中的性別、權力和文化遺產

大館對談:聯合國教科文組織對談系列 – 城市遺產的創新

大館對談:聯合國教科文組織對談系列 – 對談 2
以自然與文化建構城巿適應力及可持續性

大館對談:聯合國教科文組織對談系列 – 對談 1
以文化、藝術、創意令城巿煥然重生

大館對談

大館對談:真相的幽靈

大館對談—巴黎聖母院 – 如何在廿一世紀重建哥德式傑作?

大館對談—國際建築保育系列

大館對談
同陌生人跳隻舞

大館對談—新加坡國家美術館的誕生

大館對談—柏林國家歌劇院之復修

CHAOS: 夏永康 × 井上嗣也

二十世紀遺產:多元香港故事 – 應用國際古蹟遺址理事會「二十世紀遺產的歷史主題體系」

大館對談—翻遍石頭 —— 從香港到墨西哥的物質之旅

大館對談—共融保育與文化聯繫:培養人和地球復原力

大館對談—夏日學社 #4 許煜與Hans Ulrich Obrist對談《藝術與宇宙技術》

大館對談—古蹟活化再利用的大館和外灘美術館

大館對談—以人為本: 從社區敘事到規劃與設計

大館對談—讓經典成現代:Frank Gehry翻新費城藝術博物館的藍圖

大館對談—朝氣蓬勃的海濱古蹟新藝術區: 澳洲華素灣2/3號碼頭的活化

大館對談 — 潛藏的創新: 中區警署建築群的活化專案

立下根基:《布拉憲章》與文物價值

中國和意大利的書劍文化

治癒建築:「慈山 · 心導遊」身心洗滌之旅

古蹟重生:都爹利街石階及煤氣路燈修復工程

香港殖民地的犯罪、正義與刑罰

表面以外:細談歷史建築物的油漆保育

創造宜居城市:仰光建築保育和發展的融合

記憶之外: 從法國到澳門的建築保育

日期及時間

2022年8月1日 7pm-8:30pm

地點

賽馬會立方及網上

費用

免費

簡介

聯合策劃

為應對氣候變化,「大館對談」之聯合國教科文組織系列第二場,將探究「基於自然的解決方案」以建立城巿適應力。都市環境中有哪些自然災害風險?亞洲城市中有哪些因應其地理文化環境的藍綠建設項目?在對抗氣候變化方面,我們正處於怎樣的形勢?又可如何互相學習?透過不同案例,這場對談亦將反思實踐上的挑戰、加速求變的迫切性,以及訂立長遠可持續管理的需要。

節目將以英語進行,並提供英語至粵語(現場及網上)及英語至普通話(網上)即時傳譯。

主持人:

伍美琴 | 香港中文大學城市研究課程主任及地理與資源管理系副主任

講者:

陸恭蕙 | 香港科技大學環境研究所首席發展顧問,前香港特別行政區環境局副局長(2012-2017年) (網上)

Kotchakorn Voraakhom |「國際景觀設計師聯盟 」氣候變化工作小組主席; Landprocess及 Porous City Network 行政總裁及創辦人 (網上)

評論員:

Wendy C. Atieno | 國際自然保護聯盟Ecosystem-based Adaptation項目專員 (網上)

7:00pm – 8:00pm

講座 

8:00pm – 8:30pm

問答時段


主持,講者及評論員簡介

伍美琴
Kotchakorn Voraakhom
陸恭蕙
Wendy C. Atieno

伍美琴為香港中文大學地理與資源管理系副系主任、城市研究課程主任、未來城市研究所及香港亞太研究所副所長。她是英國皇家城市規劃學會及香港規劃師學會的會士,同時兼任香港城市設計學會的學術顧問。2016年,榮任英國社會科學學院院士,並於2021年獲選為美國建築師學會(AIA)香港分會榮譽會員。她的著作榮獲六項香港規劃師學會年獎,以及歐洲規劃院校聯合會頒發「2015年最佳論文獎」。她曾擔任聯合國、歐洲聯盟及深圳市政府的顧問。她主理的城市研究課程,是聯合國人居署全球城市運動的夥伴,旨在積極推動實施新城市議程。

Kotchakorn Voraakhom是泰國景觀設計師,致力營造生產性公共空間、改善都市氣候變化問題。她創設了泰國曼谷第一個重要綠化設施「朱拉隆功大學百週年紀念公園」。他的工作項目包括:亞洲最大都市綠耕屋頂「法政大學都市屋頂農場」及世界第一座位於首都的跨河空中公園「湄南河空中公園(Chao Phraya Sky Park)」。

她獲聯合國氣候變化框架公約頒發「聯合國全球氣候行動獎」,被《時代》雜誌選為2019Time 100 Next及15名對抗氣候變遷的女性領袖之一(15 leading women fighting against climate change),並入選BBC巾幗百名及Bloomberg Green 30 for 2020。她是「國際景觀設計師聯盟」氣候變化工作小組主席。她擁有美國哈佛大學景觀建築碩士學位,並獲選為TED Fellow 和Echoing Green Fellow。

陸恭蕙SBS, JP, OBE是香港科技大學環境研究所和環境及可持續發展學部的首席發展顧問。她曾擔任香港特別行政區政府行政長官辦公室「粵港澳大灣區發展規劃綱要」的生態文明建設特別顧問(2019至2020年),及曾擔任特區政府環境局副局長(2012至2017年)。陸教授曾擔任獨立非牟利公共政策智庫思匯政策研究所的行政總監(2000至2012)。陸教授於1992年獲委任,其後在1995年及1998年當選為香港立法會議員。早年,陸教授曾在私營機構任職十四載,主責商品交易市場活動。

目前,陸教授身任可持續發展林業公司董事、港華智慧能源有限公司董事,及CDP全球環境境信息研究中心董事及世界海事論壇董事。她亦身兼香港科技園可持續發展顧問、TENEO的資深顧問,及BASF持份者諮詢委員會的成員。陸教授也是香港綠色金融協會的創始顧問。

Wendy C. Atieno是國際自然保護聯盟(IUCN) 美國華盛頓D.C 辦事處Ecosystem-based Adaptation項目專員。她透過氣候變遷小組,支援推行多個有關生態系統的適應及復原項目。她與亞洲、非洲及拉丁美洲的團隊合作,透過分享實證及知識,及聯繫行動與政策,加強全球政策與在地實際執行的互惠關係。她在 IUCN 老撾人民民主共和國 擔任Princeton in Asia 成員(2013-2015年)期間,支援湄公河下游地區跨界水資源管理項目,並就濕地地區基於生態系統的適應方法提倡方案。她擁有美國大學國際服務學院的全球環境政策碩士學位,期間她的研究範疇包括水資源管理、水資源及氣候變化,以及城市政治生態學。