Neon Insiders

Open Call: Tai Kwun Neon Connection

Tai Kwun Conversations: Vital Signs Series

Neon Metropolis Workshop

Vital Signs

Neon Walk

Neon Insiders

Date & Time

3 - 18 Aug, 2023 Refer to programme details

Location

Ideas Studio, LG2/F, Block 01 / F Hall / Block 01 Duplex Studio & Laundry Steps

Price

Refer to programme details

General

Alongside the exhibition Vital Signs, Tai Kwun is presenting a series of Neon Insiders programmes.


The Tube-bending Craftsmanship of Neon Signs

The Tube-bending Craftsmanship of Neon Signs
Date: 18 August (Fri)
Time: 7pm – 8pm
Venue: Block 01 LG2 Ideas Studio
Ticket price: HKD 80
Speaker: Cardin Chan, Wu Chi Kai
Language: Cantonese (with simultaneous interpretation in English)
Click here to book now.

Tube bending is an important step in the production of neon signs. Starting from handling glass tubes, bombarding tubes injecting gas in the tubes, attaching electrodes, to powering up the neon sign, how do these neon craftsmen realise a design?

With less than ten remaining tube-bending masters in Hong Kong and in the face of today's technological and urban development, the market demand for neon signs is gradually dwindling. What is the current condition and the survival mechanisms of the tube-bending industry?

This sharing invites the General Manager of Tetra Neon Exchange Cardin Chan and tube-bending master Wu Chi Kai in conversation. Master Wu will reveal his tube-bending process through video documentation of his works, share his apprentice journey, as well as discuss the future of the industry and his dedication towards preserving and passing on this traditional craft.


Making of Vital Signs Guided Tour

Making of Vital Signs Guided Tour
Date: 12 - 13 August (Sat-Sun)  
Time: 2pm – 3pm  
Venue: Block 01 LG1 Duplex Studio (Vital Signs reception)  
Ticket price: Free  
Speaker: Cardin Chan (General Manager, Tetra Neon Exchange)
Language: Cantonese (12 August) & English (13 August)  
Click here to book now.

Vital Signs presents over 25 conserved neon signs and contemporary art installations, and neon installation fabrication equipment.

Behind the scenes, the Tetra Neon Exchange (TNX) team has masterminded the complex logistics of safely removing and transporting original large-scale neon signs, modified their structures, and recommissioned the signs with glass tubes, electrical systems and animation effects. What were the technical challenges faced and considerations taken by TNX face during the preparation and installation of Vital Signs?

The General Manager of TNX, Cardin Chan, will introduce several highlight exhibits displayed in the Block 01 Duplex Studio and Laundry Steps from the angle of curating the complex exhibition and sharing the bespoke installation efforts made during the making of Vital Signs.

* This guided tour includes a 15 mins section at the covered outdoor area of Laundry Steps. Please wear comfortable clothing and shoes and bring your own water and umbrella.
*The guided tour will be cancelled if the Typhoon Signal No.3 or above is hoisted or the Red/Black Rainstorm Signal is issued within 2 hours before the guided tour begins.


Vital Signs Calligraphy Masterclass

Vital Signs Calligraphy Masterclass
Date: 9 August (Wed)
Time: 7pm – 8:30pm
Venue: F-Hall Studio
Ticket price: HKD 180
Speaker: Fung Siu Wa (Wah Gor)
Language: Cantonese
Click here to book now.

The unique art of calligraphy is achieved through the weight of brushstrokes, the flow of lines, and emotional expression. The individual style of different calligraphers activates neon signs with life and dynamism.

Under the guidance of calligraphy master Wah Gor, the participants will experience writing different scripts and complete their own calligraphy. During the workshop Wah Gor will copy the characters on certain signs exhibited in Vital Signs, give insight into techniques on writing different kinds of strokes, and share his creative experience.

*Participants should have a basic understanding and experience with Chinese calligraphy.


Learning Calligraphy through Neon Signs

Learning Calligraphy through Neon Signs
Date: 3 August (Thu)
Time: 7pm – 8pm
Venue: F-Hall Studio
Ticket price: HKD 80
Speaker: Fung Siu Wa (Wah Gor)
Language: Cantonese (with simultaneous interpretation in English)
Click here to book now.

Drafting a calligraphic sketch is the first step to creating word-oriented neon signs. Different to practicing standard calligraphy, one needs to consider whether a character is producible via tube bending techniques when writing for a sign. Hence, calligraphers for neon signs need to balance aesthetics with the possibilities and limitations of neon technology.

Wah Gor has written calligraphy for the titles of many Hong Kong films and shop signs, including Ip Man (2008), Mad World (2016), Royal Plaza Hotel, and Fulum Seafood Restaurant. As a master of different calligraphic styles, he will share his knowledge on the various scripts commonly used in neon signs and the styles and calligraphers preferred by different industries, as well as his experience on writing outdoor signs for shop exteriors and his journey from being a street scribe to a master calligrapher.

Wah Gor will also demonstrate his skills in a live calligraphy session to share with the audience the traditional art of writing in ink and brush.


Speakers Bio

Cardin Chan
Fung Siu Wa
Wu Chi Kai

Since her relocation back to Hong Kong in early 2017, Cardin has devoted herself to conserving local culture and is gradually being recognized as the first and only female neon conservationist in Hong Kong. At the invitation of the founder of TNX, she joined the organization in 2020. She transmutes her unwillingness to see neon completely disappear, due to the lack of public awareness, into her main driving force. With her tenacious approach, she has moved and impelled an incremental amount of merchants, people from the local neon industry, brands, individuals, etc to come together to support Hong Kong neon. Empowering local traditional neon workers to find their own voice and positioning is one of her major long-term goals.

Fung Siu Wah, known as Wah Gor, is a renowned calligrapher in Hong Kong. Under family education and the mentorship of his father, Wah Gor developed a curiosity and love for traditional calligraphy. He made his first foray with Ming and Qing calligraphic styles, thereafter studied the calligraphy of Yuan, Song, Tang, and Jin dynasty masters. As he learnt from those before him while widely studying with contemporary teachers, he began to integrate a diverse range of styles and became particularly fond of semi-cursive and cursive scripts. With studious hard work, he established an original style of his own. Wah Gor is currently the member of Hong Kong Chinese Calligraphy Association, Hong Kong Calligraphers Organisation, and the chairman and calligraphy instructor of Wah Gor Society.

From the 1980s, Wah Gor has lent his script to the titles of many shopping malls, organizations, and film posters.

Shopping malls: Royal Plaza Hotel, Royal Park Hotel, Maxim's Palace, Fulum Seafood Restaurant, Sha Tin New Town Plaza, Kowloon Bay Telford Plaza, Ying Wa College and Ying Wa Primary School.

Film Posters: Over 50 films such as To Be Number One (1991), Fight Back to School (1991), The Lucky Guy (1998), The Legend of Master So (1982), The God of Cookery (1996), Who's the Hero (2008), Fatal Move (2008), Election 2 (2006), All for the Winner (1990). Recently also The Legend Is Born: Ip Man (2010), Legend of the Fist: The Return of Chen Zhen (2010), Shaolin (2011), Revenge: A Love Story (2010), Rigor Mortis (2013), The Mobfathers (2016), and Mad World (2016).

As a teenager, Master Wu was drawn into the world of neon and learnt his craft from some of the finest artisans of the past to become a leading light in a younger generation of craftsmen. Constantly exploring the outer limits of what’s physically and technically possible in new applications of neon, the 3D piece Head + Spectacles was created by Master Wu more than 20 years ago. He has also led Tetra Neon Exchange (TNX)’s conservation team in preparing the original Hong Kong neon signs which you will see as you explore Vital Signs.

深入霓虹

大館對談:霓續系列

螢聚微城工作坊

霓續

霓覓步行

深入霓虹

日期及時間

2023年8月3日 - 18日 參考節目詳情

地點

01座地下二層創意工作室 / F 倉展室 / 01座複式展室及洗衣場石階

費用

參考節目詳情

簡介

為配合展覽「霓續」,大館特設一系列深入霓虹的活動。


霓虹招牌的屈管工藝

霓虹招牌的屈管工藝
日期:8月18日(五)
時間:下午7時至8時
地點:01座LG2樓創意工作室
票價:HKD 80
講者:陳倩雯、胡智楷
語言:廣東話(設英語即時傳譯)
按此登記

屈管是製造霓虹招牌的重要步驟之一。由處理玻璃管、抽真空、入氣、安裝俗稱燈頭到通電,師傅在收到招牌設計圖後,如何將霓虹招牌在現實中呈現?

現時香港僅餘少於十位屈管師傅。在現今科技和城市發展等因素下,霓虹燈招牌的市場需求逐漸式微,屈管行業的現況和存活何去何從?

是次分享邀請了「霓虹交滙」總經理陳倩雯和屈管師傅胡智楷與觀眾親身交流。胡師傅將透過其工作影片介紹屈管過程、入行學藝的故事、探討行業的未來以及對承傳屈管工藝的堅持。


「霓續」 展覽製作導賞團

「霓續」 展覽製作導賞團
日期:8月12日(六)及8月13日(日)
時間:下午2時至3時
地點:01座複式展室LG1樓「霓續」接待處
票價:免費
講者:陳倩雯 (「霓虹交滙」 總經理)
語言:廣東話 (8月12日) 及 英語 (8月13日)
按此登記。

「霓續」展出超過25件從昔日街頭保育下來的大型招牌和當代藝術裝置、以及製作霓虹其裝置的工具。

「霓虹交滙」團隊在背後需要安排巨型招牌的拆卸和搬運、修改裝置結構、以及為展品重裝玻璃管、電力系統及走燈效果等。究竟他們在準備及設置「霓續」的過程中,遇到甚麼技術上的挑戰,又考量過甚麼因素?  

「霓虹交滙」總經理陳倩雯將以策劃此複雜展覽的角度為你介紹數件位於01座複式展室及洗衣場石階的重點展品,分享「霓續」各種展覽訂製的安裝花絮。 

* 此導賞團包括一節15分鐘的環節於室外有蓋的洗衣場石階。參加者請自備飲用水及雨傘,並盡量穿著舒適的衣物及鞋履。
*如天文台於導賞團開始前2小時内懸掛三號或以上熱帶氣旋警告信號、或紅/黑色暴雨警告信號,導賞團將會取消。


「霓續」 書法大師班

「霓續」 書法大師班
日期:8月9日(三)
時間:下午7時至8時30分
地點: F倉展室
票價:HKD 180
講者:馮兆華(華戈)
語言:廣東話
按此登記

書法講求筆觸的粗幼、線條的流動和情感的投放,以成就富有個人風格的藝術作品,讓霓虹招牌顯得生動和有活力。

參加者將在書法大師華戈的指導下,親身體驗書寫不同流派的字體,完成屬於自己的書法作品。工作坊期間,華戈將臨摹「霓續」中一些招牌展品的字體,教授撇、捺、點、橫、豎的筆劃技巧,及分享其創作心得。

*參加者需對中國書法有基本認識和經驗。


從霓虹招牌了解書法

從霓虹招牌了解書法
日期:8月3日(四)
時間:下午7時至8時
地點: F倉展室 
票價:HKD 80
講者:馮兆華(華戈)
語言:廣東話(設英語即時傳譯)
按此登記

要創作以文字爲主的霓虹招牌,起書法草稿是第一步。與普通的書法不同,為招牌題字需要考慮字體能否配合屈管技術,得以實現出來。因此,霓虹招牌書法家需要同時兼顧其美學追求,及深知霓虹燈技術的可能性和限制。

華戈為不少經典香港電影及店舖招牌題字,包括《葉問》(2008)、《一念無明》(2016)、「帝京酒店」及「富臨海鮮酒家」等。他作爲熟悉不同書法流派的大師將分享霓虹招牌中常見的字體、為商戶寫外牆招牌的經歷、不同行業在設計招牌中的心水風格和書法家,以及他從街頭寫字師傅成為書法家的心路歷程。

華戈更會即席揮毫,現場題字,讓觀眾感受書法的傳統精粹。


講者簡介

陳倩雯
馮兆華
胡智楷

自2017年初回流香港後,陳倩雯全心投身於本地文化保育工作,並逐步被認可為城中首位及唯一女性霓虹保育者,並於2020年應邀加入「霓虹交滙」 。 她把不願意看到香港霓虹因大眾對它缺乏認識而全然消失的想法轉化成她堅持迎難而上的動力,這種態度亦慢慢地感染了越來越多商戶、本地霓虹工作者、品牌及個人等一起支持香港霓虹。她其中一長遠主要目標是希望能令本地傳統霓虹工作者找到自己的定位及聲音。

馮兆華,筆名華戈,是本港著名書法家。華戈幼承庭訓,在父輩耳濡目染下對傳統書法由好奇而至酷愛,自明、清書風入門,上溯元、宋、唐、晉各代法帖大家,不拘一格,融匯各體流派於筆下,神交前賢,廣結名師,尤喜勤習行草書風,因而「天道酬勤」而自成一格。華戈現為中國書協香港分會會員、香港書法家協會會員、香江書道創立者、香港華戈書道學會主席及書法導師。

自80年代起,華戈曾為不少商場、機構及電影海報題字。

商場及機構︰

帝京酒店、帝都酒店、美心皇宮大酒店、富臨海鮮酒家、沙田新城市廣場、九龍灣德福廣場、英華書院、英華小學等等。

電影海報︰

《跛豪》、《逃學威龍》、《行運一條龍》、《蘇乞兒》、《食神》、《箭神》、《勝者為王》、《奪帥》、《以和為貴》、《賭聖》等等共50餘部,近期更有《葉問前傳》、《精武風雲》、《新少林寺》、《復仇者之死》、《儒俠杜心五》、《殭屍》、《選老頂》及《一念無明》等。

胡師傅在青少年時期已進入了霓虹的世界,向上一代最頂尖的一些工匠學習技藝,此後逐漸成為這一輩工匠之中的主要人物。胡師傅持續探索如何突破霓虹燈實際和技術上的限制,在早於20多年前已創造了這3D作品「人頭像與眼鏡」,今次亦有參與帶領「霓虹交滙」的修復團隊,為「霓續」所展出的香港舊有霓虹招牌作準備。