HK Phil x Tai Kwun: Chamber Music Series

The Soldier and the Nightingale (Mixed Ensemble)

Rapturous Russian Quartets (String Quartet)

HK Phil x Tai Kwun: Chamber Music Series

Beethoven Meets Mozart (Piano & Wind Quintet)

100 Years of Brassmania (Brass Quintet)

Summer Nights in the Americas (Woodwind Quintet)

Strings Encounter [Original Title : Beethoven Encounter]

Rapturous Russian Quartets (String Quartet)

The Soldier and the Nightingale (Mixed Ensemble)

Date & Time

21 Sep 2020 7:30pm-9:00pm


JC Cube


Adult $200; Full-time student and senior persons, and people with disabilities and their minders $150


Programme Cancellation Notice

The programme “HK Phil × Tai Kwun: Chamber Music Series: The Soldier and the Nightingale”  held on 21 Sep 2020 (Originally rescheduled from 23 Mar 2020 to 28 Sep 2020)  at JC Cube, Tai Kwun have been cancelled to help reduce the risk of spreading COVID-19 .

Ticket holders please contact the HK Phil Ticketing Office from Monday to Friday (10:00-12:30, 14:00-18:00, excluding Saturday, Sunday and Public Holidays), at 2721 0132/2721 2332 or email or at 5628 7595 (WhatsApp ONLY) for relevant ticket arrangements on or before 23 Oct 2020. For other enquiries and ticketing assistance, you are also welcome to contact the HK Phil Ticketing Office during the above stated office hours.

This programme epitomizes the variety of approaches to writing chamber works in the twentieth century. The avant-garde techniques that proliferated the post-war decades challenged musicians and listeners alike. Music of the modern age was becoming increasingly philosophical and asking each of us to question its meaning in our own lives. If music is about eliciting emotion, this collection of works has as much variety as an audience could hope for.


Earle Brown 4 Systems

Stravinsky L’Histoire du soldat

Cage 4'33"

Theo LoEvendie The Nightingale for Narrator & Seven Instruments


Wang Liang, violin

Philip Powell, bass

John Schertle, clarinet

Vance Lee, bassoon

Christopher Moyse, trumpet

Jarod Vermette, trombone

James Boznos, percussion

Timothy Calnin, narration

The above content is provided by the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra