HK Phil x Tai Kwun: Chamber Music Series

HK Phil x Tai Kwun: Chamber Music Series

Performing Arts Programme

100 Years of Brassmania (Brass Quintet)

Performing Arts Programme

Rapturous Russian Quartets (String Quartet)

Performing Arts Programme

Beethoven Encounter! (String Quartet with Horns)

Performing Arts Programme

Summer Nights in the Americas (Woodwind Quintet)

Performing Arts Programme

Beethoven Meets Mozart (Piano & Wind Quintet)

Performing Arts Programme
7:30pm-9:00pm Timetable
JC Cube Map
Adult $200; Full-time student and senior persons, and people with disabilities and their minders $150
Rapturous Russian Quartets (String Quartet)


Programme Postponement Notice

The following HK Phil × Tai Kwun: Chamber Music Series concert held at JC Cube, Tai Kwun, has been rescheduled at the same venue. Ticket-holders may present their original concert tickets to gain admission to the rescheduled performances.

Rapturous Russian Quartets (Originally rescheduled from 20 Apr 2020 to 14 Dec 2020, now further rescheduled to 22 Feb 2021)

For ticket holders who cannot attend the rescheduled performance, please contact the HK Phil Ticketing Office from Monday to Friday (10:00-12:30, 14:00-18:00, excluding Saturday, Sunday and Public Holidays), at 2721 0132/2721 2332 or email for relevant ticket arrangements on or before 28 July 2020. For other enquiries and ticketing assistance, you are also welcome to contact the HK Phil Ticketing Office during the above stated office hours.

American minimalist composer, Philip Glass, rounds off this programme with his second quartet. The three works have a shared sense of pathos and for different reasons, there is an underlying sadness and yearning for brighter, happier times. Each piece uses the qualities available in the string quartet to allow introspection as well as passion and the musical ideas are as reflective of the issues of today as they were when the ink was drying on the page.


Philip Glass Quartet no. 2

Shostakovich Quartet no. 8

Prokofiev Quartet no. 1


Rachael Mellado, violin

Zhang Xi, violin

Damara Lomdaridze, viola

Fang Xiaomu, cello

The above content is provided by the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra